About Us


The Society, originally founded in 1943 as the Canberra Nursery Kindergarten Association, is an incorporated association of its member. The Society is governed by a Constitution adopted in 2007, and amended most recently November 20th, 2012.
All of our 2014 Council members have children currently attending a preschool and /or a playschool in the ACT.

Canberra Preschool Society is represented by a part time employee.

Executive Officer - Emma Caldwell

In Canberra, a public preschool with an active Preschool Parents Association will regard all parents with a child enrolled at that preschool as a member of its Preschool Parents Association.

Canberra Preschool Society would like to acknowledge the Education and Training Directorate, as this organisation would not be possible without their Deed of Grant.

What does CPS do?


  • We are here to support you in your preschool year
  • Help you navigate your role on your parent committee
  • We run "how to" Workshops for Presidents, Treasurers, Secretaries and fundraising throughout the year
  • We have the unique ability to speak on behalf of all preschool's and preschool parents so that out interests are made clear and well represented to governing bodies within Education

Our Staff

Emmas head


Emma is a passionate supporter of parent participation in Canberra preschools and playschools. She has been a president, secretary, and treasurer at her childrens' playschools, preschools.

Emma Caldwell  is currently the executive officer of Canberra Preschool Society and welcomes contact from any parents wishing to get involved in their child's preschool.

Our Members


Allen Main, Boddington, Chifley, Chisholm, Deakin, Downer, Fadden, Gordon, Hackett, Hall, Jervis Bay, Lyneham, North Ainslie, North Curtin, Pearce, Taylor, Tharwa, Torrens, Wanniassa, Watson, Weston, Yarralumla Montessori, Monash Preschool Sub Committee - PPA = Preschool Parents Association